Build Your Own Clone Message Board

It is currently Tue Oct 16, 2018 12:28 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 3:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 1:39 pm
Posts: 6
Hi

Just finished my build. Bypass and the LED works. The volume works but the compression side doesn't. If I turn the "Blend" all the way the guitar signal dies.


Image

Image

Image

Image

Looking at it more I've found that C12 on the board says 47uF and the schematic says 4,7uF. That might be the issue.
Image

Image


These are voltages on the IC1:
(assuming that pin 1 is top left)

PS: 8,53V TC Electronic.
Left row
1. 4,66
2. 4,65
3. 3,84
4. 8,52
5. 4,22
6. 4,25
7. 4,26

Right row
8. 4,26
9. 4,26
10. 4,22
11. 0
12. 4,26
13. 4,26
14. 4,26

Some parts were missing in my kit, the trimpot and 2,4K resistor. So instead of a trimpot I mounted a 4,7K resistor witch gets me to 1,7V.

Hopefully there's someone who can spot my error :D

Cheers
// Martin


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 3:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 1:39 pm
Posts: 6
mwc wrote:
Hi

Just finished my build. Bypass and the LED works. The volume works but the compression side doesn't. If I turn the "Blend" all the way the guitar signal dies.


Image

Image

Image

Image

Looking at it more I've found that C12 on the board says 47uF and the schematic says 4,7uF. That might be the issue.
Image

Image


These are voltages on the IC1:
(assuming that pin 1 is top left)

PS: 8,53V TC Electronic.
Left row
1. 4,66
2. 4,65
3. 3,84
4. 8,52
5. 4,22
6. 4,25
7. 4,26

Right row
8. 4,26
9. 4,26
10. 4,22
11. 0
12. 4,26
13. 4,26
14. 4,26

Some parts were missing in my kit, the trimpot and 2,4K resistor. So instead of a trimpot I mounted a 4,7K resistor witch gets me to 1,7V.

Hopefully there's someone who can spot my error :D

Cheers
// Martin


Tried swapping C12, the 47uF cap to a 4,7uF. I'll test it out tomorrow.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:57 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:39 pm
Posts: 3891
Location: Moses Lake, WA
Your voltage look ok. Do you have a signal tester? The actual part of the circuit where the wet signal passes is extremely simple. It should pass signal regardless of whether or not the JFET limiting circuit is working properly. I would guess you have a cold solder joint somewhere in the wet signal path. You should try reflowing your solder joints. If that isn't it, it's possible you have the JFET limiting circuit stuck in "limit". If you have a signal tester, test pins 1 and 3 of the op amp.

_________________
*patience is a virtue*

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 1:39 pm
Posts: 6
byoc wrote:
Your voltage look ok. Do you have a signal tester? The actual part of the circuit where the wet signal passes is extremely simple. It should pass signal regardless of whether or not the JFET limiting circuit is working properly. I would guess you have a cold solder joint somewhere in the wet signal path. You should try reflowing your solder joints. If that isn't it, it's possible you have the JFET limiting circuit stuck in "limit". If you have a signal tester, test pins 1 and 3 of the op amp.


All I've got is this multimeter with a built in tester that beeps. There's no beep when I place the probes on PIN 1 and PIN 3. I'll try to reflow ever connection just to make sure and see if that fixes it.
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 1:39 pm
Posts: 6
Here's how it sounds.

https://youtu.be/KhyJG5xEoRI


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 1:39 pm
Posts: 6
mwc wrote:
Here's how it sounds.

https://youtu.be/KhyJG5xEoRI


Just went over all of the components and everything is in the correct place. The only things I can think of now is that either the IC is broke or the transistor are.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 5:27 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:39 pm
Posts: 3891
Location: Moses Lake, WA
I'd start with installing the bias trimpot.

_________________
*patience is a virtue*

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 5:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 1:39 pm
Posts: 6
byoc wrote:
I'd start with installing the bias trimpot.


Just tried that. Same result. If I turn it down the signal dies and if I turn it up the signal squeals. However, when I tested it with a different PSU the squeal turned in to a hum.

I've also tried to de-solder the transistors and diod to see if that helped, with no luck. (trying to locate the source)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:21 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:39 pm
Posts: 3891
Location: Moses Lake, WA
What kind of power supply are you using?

You didn't actually play anything in the vid so I'm not sure what is going on . Does it pass compressed signal, or is the "wet" signal just hum/squealing?

_________________
*patience is a virtue*

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group