Build Your Own Clone Message Board

It is currently Fri May 17, 2024 7:21 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 8:58 pm 

Hello everyone. I'd be greatly appreciative of any help I can get from the community here as I try to get my classic compressor pedal working. This is my first build and first time soldering anything. Pic attached.

I'm building the Classic Compressor (https://buildyourownclone.com/collectio ... ressor-kit)

I plugged it into the amp, and the guitar played clean with the compressor pedal off; when I pressed the footswitch, the pedal's LED light came on, but the volume through the amp was next to nothing, even after turning the level and comp all the way up and down.

I went over the wiring and realized that I'd soldered the socket of the IC upside down (with the notch facing the footswitch instead of the plugs). I'd installed the chip with the proper orientation in my failed test. I tried inverting the IC and still got no signal.

Here are the DMM readings:

With the IC oriented properly in the inverted socket
Pin 1 0
2 3.65
3 3.65
4 0
5 0.6
6 2/6
7 9
8 0

With the IC oriented inverted in the inverted socket
Pin 1 7.5
2 7.6
3 7.5
4 0
5 5.8
6 2.5
7 9
8 0

I imagine I"ll have to resolder the socket properly. While I'm at it, do you all see anything else that needs adjustment, or does the DMM readings reveal anything else unusual?

Thanks so much,
Evan
Attachment:
Screen Shot 2020-08-02 at 10.57.17 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-08-02 at 10.57.17 PM.png [ 642.5 KiB | Viewed 2230 times ]

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 6:15 am 

Couple things:

1. The orientation of the socket is irrelevant. The orientation of the IC itself is very relevant. It should be installed with the notch/dot facing toward the top regardless of how the socket is installed. Hopefully the chip was not damaged while it was installed backwards.

2. Did you adjust the trimpot as indicated in the instructions?
Quote: