Build Your Own Clone Message Board

It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 9:00 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 9:14 am 

Greetings all! This is my first time posting for help. Thanks in advance for your generosity and wisdom. This is my third BYOC build. First was 2knob compressor, 2nd was tremolito. I’m experiencing several issues with my newly finished Echo Royal build. I’ve scoured the boards already and cannot find solutions. Here are the symptoms:

1 - In “trails” mode, when I bypass the pedal, I can still hear echoes being created and “leaked” into the signal at about 1/4 the volume of the “active” echoes. They are also distorted. However, this only happens in “trails” mode. In normal bypass mode, no issue.

2 - There seems to be some significant unpleasant distortion on the first echo. It’s independent of delay time, always on the first echo ONLY. Sounds like static or crackly. Subsequent delays are clean. However, it doesn't happen on every note/chord. Seems somewhat dependent on how hard I play. It's very prominent when I play loud chords or "poppy" plucked sounds.

3 - The delay time knob creates it’s own “popping” sound that then echoes out when it’s turned clockwise. This doesn’t happen when it’s turned counterclockwise. only in the one direction.

4 - Not really an issue, but an observation: The delay time at maximum setting is about 2 seconds. Significantly slower than the one in the demo video. Not sure this matters, but thought it might mean something since I saw reference to posts about older chips and delay time/distortions.

I can post pics if it seems necessary from the start. Just lmk. My soldering is pretty clean I believe. I built the other two pedals without issues and they sound great.

Cheers…

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 1:07 pm 
Site Admin

Please contact sales@buildyourownclone.com and request a new MCU.

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 1:11 pm