Build Your Own Clone Message Board

It is currently Sun Aug 14, 2022 1:35 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2022 4:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2021 7:35 am
Posts: 10
Everything functions as it should, but I am unable to get rid of the crackling distortion no matter how I adjust the 25k trimpot. At best, I am able to get a clean chorus sound by gently playing single notes, but chords or hitting the strings any harder makes it crackle noticeably enough to where the effect isn't usable. I am using humbuckers, but they aren't particularly hot.

Is this normal? Do I have a faulty component somewhere, maybe the BBD or clock chip? I have built a different analog CE-2 style chorus in the past and was able to dial it in without this problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2022 11:42 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:39 pm
Posts: 5639
Location: Moses Lake, WA
sticky1138 wrote:
Everything functions as it should, but I am unable to get rid of the crackling distortion no matter how I adjust the 25k trimpot. At best, I am able to get a clean chorus sound by gently playing single notes, but chords or hitting the strings any harder makes it crackle noticeably enough to where the effect isn't usable. I am using humbuckers, but they aren't particularly hot.

Is this normal? Do I have a faulty component somewhere, maybe the BBD or clock chip? I have built a different analog CE-2 style chorus in the past and was able to dial it in without this problem.


If you remove the BBD chip, and only have dry signal, is the dry signal distorted?

_________________
*patience is a virtue*

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2022 12:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2021 7:35 am
Posts: 10
No, the dry signal without the BBD chip sounds exactly the same as when the effect is bypassed


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2022 2:39 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:39 pm
Posts: 5639
Location: Moses Lake, WA
You probably need a new BBD. Please contact sales@builyourownclone.com and request a replacement.

_________________
*patience is a virtue*

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2022 3:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2021 7:35 am
Posts: 10
I built this using the BYOC PCB and my own components. I tested five other MN3207s I had lying around (all from one source), and they each got me the same result.

I also tried borrowing a 3207 chip from the other BBD chorus I built that is known to be of good quality and produce a distortion-free signal. Using that chip in the Mega, it sounds a little better, but still enough distortion to be a problem, regardless of trim setting.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2022 10:16 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:39 pm
Posts: 5639
Location: Moses Lake, WA
What transistors are you using for the low pass filters?

_________________
*patience is a virtue*

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2022 12:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2021 7:35 am
Posts: 10
2N5088


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2022 4:18 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:39 pm
Posts: 5639
Location: Moses Lake, WA
You can post pics, and we'll take a look.

_________________
*patience is a virtue*

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2022 12:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2021 7:35 am
Posts: 10
Here are a couple huge images of the PCB

https://i.imgur.com/lJXYGZi.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/LdN7qHu.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2022 1:57 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:39 pm
Posts: 5639
Location: Moses Lake, WA
I don't see anything out of place. Can you please post voltage readings for the ICs?

_________________
*patience is a virtue*

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2022 10:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2021 7:35 am
Posts: 10
Sure, which ICs and which pins on them?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2022 12:23 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:24 pm
Posts: 15552
Location: Albany, NY
All eight pins on all five IC's, please. Pin numbering is per the image below:

Image

_________________
“My favorite programming language is SOLDER” - Bob Pease (RIP)

My Website * My Musical Gear * My DIY Pedals: Pg.1 - Pg.2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2022 1:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2021 7:35 am
Posts: 10
Here are my voltage readings:

TL072 (top of PCB)

1) 10.9
2) 11.0
3) 10.7
4) 10.8
5) 10.8
6) 10.5
7) 11.1
8 ) 11.2

TL072 (center)

1) 10.7
2) 10.7
3) 10.7
4) 11.3
5) 11.5
6) 11.5
7) 11.3
8 ) 11.3

TL072 (bottom)

1) 11.0
2) 10.9
3) 10.9
4) 10.9
5) 11.8
6) 11.4
7) 11.6
8 ) 10.8


MN3102

1) 12.5
2) 13.2
3) 11.4
4) 13.6
5) 13.8
6) 13.5
7) 13.1
8 ) 12.0

MN3207
1) 13.4
2) 13.6
3) 13.8
4) 13.7
5) 14.5
6) 13.2
7) 13.1
8 ) 13.6


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2022 5:19 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:24 pm
Posts: 15552
Location: Albany, NY
Doesn't appear that you are taking the voltage readings correctly. To measure the DC voltage level on the IC pins, set your multimeter to the DC voltage mode, indicated by a solid line above a dotted one. Use the 20VDC range setting if it's not an auto-ranging meter. Your power source needs to be connected and there needs to be a cable in the input jack. If the pedal is assembled into the metal enclosure, put the black probe into one of the corner screw bosses of the enclosure--this is your ground connection. If the "guts" are out of the enclosure, use the sleeve tab of the input jack for the ground connection. Then touch the red probe to each point that you want to measure. See left side of the image below for the numbering of the pins.

Image

_________________
“My favorite programming language is SOLDER” - Bob Pease (RIP)

My Website * My Musical Gear * My DIY Pedals: Pg.1 - Pg.2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2022 11:11 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:39 pm
Posts: 5639
Location: Moses Lake, WA
duhvoodooman wrote:
Doesn't appear that you are taking the voltage readings correctly. To measure the DC voltage level on the IC pins, set your multimeter to the DC voltage mode, indicated by a solid line above a dotted one. Use the 20VDC range setting if it's not an auto-ranging meter. Your power source needs to be connected and there needs to be a cable in the input jack. If the pedal is assembled into the metal enclosure, put the black probe into one of the corner screw bosses of the enclosure--this is your ground connection. If the "guts" are out of the enclosure, use the sleeve tab of the input jack for the ground connection. Then touch the red probe to each point that you want to measure. See left side of the image below for the numbering of the pins.

Image


Are maybe the battery in the meter is dying.

_________________
*patience is a virtue*

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2022 8:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2021 7:35 am
Posts: 10
I forgot to plug in to the input last time and I'm not sure if it was switched on or not. :?

*Some of the voltages on certain TL072 pins were rapidly fluctuating between values and the MM was not getting an exact read. Not sure if this is a problem (with the MM or components) or is expected at these points in the circuit.

TL072 (top of PCB)

1) 0-3*
2) 3-4*
3) 0-3*
4) 1.8 mV
5) 4.0
6) 4.0
7) 0-3*
8 ) 8.1

TL072 (center)

1) 3.1
2) 3.1
3) 3.0
4) 1.8 mV
5) 5-6*
6) 5-6*
7) 0-5*
8 ) 8.2

TL072 (bottom)

1) 3.1
2) 3.1
3) 3.1
4) 1.7 mV
5) 3.1
6) 3.1
7) 3.1
8 ) 8.2

MN3102

1) 0.7
2) 4.2
3) 1.9
4) 4.7
5) 5.0
6) 2.0
7) 1.8 mV
8 ) 2.1

MN3207

1) 1.7 mV
2) 2.1
3) 2.4
4) 4.7
5) 5.0
6) 2.0
7) 2.7
8 ) 2.6


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2022 10:58 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:39 pm
Posts: 5639
Location: Moses Lake, WA
You should be using a TL022 at the "top of the PCB", not a TL072. That is the LFO, which is why it is fluctuating.

Your supply voltage seems a bit low. What are you using to power?

You main problem seems to be the second half of the TL072 in the center. The voltages should look the same for both TL072 chips. Ideally, you'd like to see closer to 9V at pin 8, 0v at pin 4, and closer to 4.5v on all the other pins or half of whatever your supply voltage is. So in your case, you'd like to see closer to 4v instead of 3v.

_________________
*patience is a virtue*

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group