Build Your Own Clone Message Board

It is currently Fri May 03, 2024 7:38 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 11:59 am 

Hello! As you can probably see from the photo, this is my first build. Actually, I built the confidence boost without a hitch. Got the confidence to then go for the Fixed Wah. Here's where I'm at:

Bypass mode is fine. I get a clean tone.
When I stomp it on, the LED goes on, but the sound totally cuts out.

I'm not sure if it's related, but I did have two questions:

1) In the photos of the build it shows a wire connecting terminal 3 to 6 in the footswitch. But it doesn't actually mention to do this in the manual. Am I supposed to do this?
2) For the wire that connects terminal 4 to 9 on the footswitch, I wasn't sure if I did that right. When I run a continuity test w/ the multimeter from #4 on the PCB to terminal 4 and 9 on the foot switch, it beeps fine. BUT, it also beeps if I touch terminal 8 (and 4 on the PCB still). Should it be doing that? I made sure the wire doesn't actually touch terminal 8, but there still seems to be continuity between them.

What should I check next? I had a hell of a time getting the pots and toggles to line up in the enclosure so I'm hoping I don't have to redo that :)

Should I try to solder the resisters from the top of the board too? I can see some of the solder didn't flow all the way through.

Or if there are any tips on what I can do w/ the multimeter to help narrow it down, that would be appreciated!

Thanks.

Attachments:
File comment: It's my first build, go easy!
IMG_2817.jpg
IMG_2817.jpg [ 683.34 KiB | Viewed 8732 times ]

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 12:14 pm 

Update: I am not sure what I did, but I get sound when it's engaged now. But it's the clean sound. No different than when it's in bypass. What might that mean?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 12:30 pm