Build Your Own Clone Message Board

It is currently Wed Aug 12, 2020 4:22 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Phase Royal Build Tips
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 5:58 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 9:15 pm
Posts: 7616
Location: Ohio
Don't install resistor R33 until after you have soldered in the op-amp socket on the bottom of the PCB. Otherwise it will get in the way of soldering pins 5 thru 8 of the socket. I would also recommend soldering R37 & D2 on the component side of the PCB. This will allow you to clip off the excess lead down to the surface of the PCB. If you solder these components on the bottom of the PCB the solder joints can get in the way of seating the op-amp socket all the way down to the surface of the PCB. If they are too tall the pins of the socket may not protrude thru the PCB far enough to solder them adequately.

Be careful not to make the solder joints for C4 (220pf) too large. These solder joints come extremely close to shorting against lug 1 of the "Mix" pot and lug 3 of the "Speed" pot.
Attachment:
p001.jpg
p001.jpg [ 148.22 KiB | Viewed 10817 times ]

_________________
"It’s your soldering."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 3:27 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:24 pm
Posts: 13545
Location: Albany, NY
Excellent tips--thanks, Stephen. My Phase Royal kit is in transit right now. Will follow your advice; don't want the build to turn into a "Royal pain". :D

_________________
“My favorite programming language is SOLDER” - Bob Pease (RIP)

My Website * My Musical Gear * My DIY Pedals: Pg.1 - Pg.2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 6:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 6:14 pm
Posts: 1
I'd like to add that you need to be careful with with C7, C8 and C13. I failed to clip the leads short enough and the result was a short to the metal case of the 4/6 switch. The symptom was no phased output, only clean output. Turning the mix pot through its range went from no output at all to clean output (equal to bypass).

_________________
[gd]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2011 10:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 5:10 pm
Posts: 11
I have a similar problem with my Royal Phaser, as it will not phase. I only get a clean signal throughout all of the controls, nothing else. I may hear a faint alteration in the signal as i rotate some of the knobs but im not getting anything, just clean. What are some things to look for? what is the most common mishap? annything will help, its my first soldering project, and i would like to know how to properly troubleshoot.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2011 10:29 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 9:15 pm
Posts: 7616
Location: Ohio
What similar problem? This is a thread on tips for building the Phase Royal.

_________________
"It’s your soldering."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2011 2:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 5:10 pm
Posts: 11
i was refering to Dave's comment right above mine. he had mentioned a possible shorting of a component which could have been the problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2011 2:58 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 9:15 pm
Posts: 7616
Location: Ohio
Oh, OK. You really should post your own thread if you want help with a build problem. Posting in a thread that isn't about a build problem can limit the amount of hits it might get otherwise.

_________________
"It’s your soldering."


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group