Build Your Own Clone Message Board

It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 12:28 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2022 12:54 am 

Hey guys, first time builder.

I’m a professional guitar tech with some basic electronics experience. My (2.0) brownface trem‘s bypass works, but when engaged the LED becomes bright, then fades to a dull glow without pulsing. This only happens with a DC power supply, the LED doesn’t come on when powered by a brand new battery. What little sound does come out when engaged, is extremely quiet. When turning the trim pots, the bias pot can cause the volume to taper off as well. The depth and rate knobs have a similar effect, at no point does it pulse as a trem should. I put the PCB together with little hassle, caught some mistakes early on and fixed them. I used a fine tip, well tinned iron, the work seems clean, no joints touching, shiny dots. I reflowed the solder as suggested in other chats, no joy. Really hoping someone has an answer, I’ve read some other chats on adjacent issues but no one seemed to have my exact problem. I’m sure it’s something simple. Thanks for your help.

Ps in the photos you might see the DC jack is disconnected, I did that to remove the PCB from the case as I opted for the internal jack. I checked many times to make sure it was properly connected when I was having my issue. It’s currently reattached out of the case.

Attachments:
433CCA12-0AC7-473F-8FAA-4B35836B272B.jpeg
433CCA12-0AC7-473F-8FAA-4B35836B272B.jpeg [ 395.21 KiB | Viewed 3494 times ]
2A3D6A7D-6698-4990-AEC5-D534DABD6B3A.jpeg
2A3D6A7D-6698-4990-AEC5-D534DABD6B3A.jpeg [ 361.84 KiB | Viewed 3494 times ]

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2022 9:40 am