Build Your Own Clone Message Board

It is currently Sun Aug 14, 2022 1:37 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2020 6:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 9:12 pm
Posts: 64
A while back, when I first started getting into this pedal building journey, I overheated a MOSFET pcb, burnt a trace and ultimately ruined the board and had to scrap the project. I kept the components but trashed the pcb. Now that I've had more experience, I decided to attempt building the MOSFET boost using the saved components, a perfboard and the schematic. I feel like I'm losing my mind, so I need confirmation: is the 100uf cap missing from the schematic? I'm only counting 2!


Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2020 9:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 9:12 pm
Posts: 64
mrdavenixon wrote:
: is the 100uf cap missing from the schematic? I'm only counting 2!

(I hit send before I was done...) There are 3 caps in the circuit. Where does the 100uf cap go?

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk




Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2020 3:26 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 9:15 pm
Posts: 7652
Location: Ohio
The 100uf cap has been omitted from the schematic. It goes in the power supply section of the circuit. It’s used to filter the incoming DC voltage. Take a look at C9 in the schematic below. This caps does the same thing for the Envelope Filter circuit.
Image

_________________
"It’s your soldering."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2020 10:25 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:24 pm
Posts: 15552
Location: Albany, NY
Are we talking about the MOSFET Boost here? If so, the 100uf electrolytic cap is C3 on this labeled PCB:

Image

_________________
“My favorite programming language is SOLDER” - Bob Pease (RIP)

My Website * My Musical Gear * My DIY Pedals: Pg.1 - Pg.2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2020 10:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 9:12 pm
Posts: 64
Yeah, it is C3. It's not in the schematic and I wasn't sure where is goes. Do I put it between the dc input/battery and the v+ bus?

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2020 11:15 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:24 pm
Posts: 15552
Location: Albany, NY
Connect the + lead of the cap to your incoming/+V power rail (wherever it's convenient) and the - lead to ground. Done.

_________________
“My favorite programming language is SOLDER” - Bob Pease (RIP)

My Website * My Musical Gear * My DIY Pedals: Pg.1 - Pg.2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2020 11:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 9:12 pm
Posts: 64
I thought that's what I was seeing when trying to dissect pictures of the pcb. I wasnt sure that was accurate.

Thanks!

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group