Build Your Own Clone Message Board

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:01 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Full Option Demo Wah
PostPosted: Sat Jan 06, 2018 6:31 pm 

Hi again
I'm still a novice and I still follow the instructions without really understanding all that's happening, but still... I'm learning every day. I've built 20 BYOC pedals so far. And 18 of them work :-)

I've build 2 wah's so far (following the standard instructions, no mods) and was happy with the result. I also have a Fulltone Clyde wah deluxe (with external gain and a rotary switch for different wah-sounds - i suspect these are different CAP-values). I really like these options (especially the 'wacked' position).

Anyway, I have a customer that wants a wah and he tried mine at his home. However, it sucked the tone of his AC30 amp (according to him).
So, I thought of modding my wah to a "full option demo wah", so he (and future customers) can choose what option they want in their wah.

The instructions talk about the following mods:
- true bypass (i have the DPDT switch)
- 2nd inductor (i bought a red fasel and a 3P4T rotary)
- different cap-value mod (i have a 1P12T rotary)
- external pots for Gain (100), Bass (1), Mid (5), Q (250) and Buffer (100) (I have the pots with solder lugs -B Taper)

In the forum, i read about the LED-mod
And then a bunch of excellent tips in Stephens posts.
Concerning wiring of the footswitch, concerning external pots, concerning resistors in series..
By the way, I do wish they were IN the instructions :-)

So before I tackle the possible technical questions (and I will dive in the forum first), I have this question:
What MODS would you do on this demo-wah, so customers can see what mods are useful?

Best regards and happy new year!
Tom

Post subject: Re: Full Option Demo Wah
PostPosted: Tue Jan 09, 2018 6:27 am 

The only wah mods I would do are the true bypass mod, an external Q mod, capacitor mod and an ON/OFF switch for the output buffer.