Build Your Own Clone Message Board

It is currently Wed Dec 02, 2020 3:22 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 72 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 4:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:42 pm
Posts: 2501
So someone asked me to draw this up for them in another thread so I thought I would go ahead and share it here as well. What this does is it allow for a simple ON/OFF switch to provide you with true-bypass switching. This can be graphed into any pedal wanted, replicating many professional pedals. The biggest advantage of this is that it allows for the use of some MUCH cooler switches, not the same old thing. You should note that all wiring in the pedal is contained within this board making off board wiring a little simplier.
Thanks
Curt


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 5:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 11:38 am
Posts: 4897
Location: Columbia River Gorge
I count one IC, one Tranny, 2 Caps, 2 resistors and a Diode, but I'm not sure what values to go with. :cry:

_________________
Image

Frag Magnet wrote:


BYOC: So easy even a drunk can do it!
:lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 7:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:42 pm
Posts: 2501
OK here we go, not sure on what resistor is need to bias the transistor correctly with a 9v source. I need to run some numbers. Anyone know this off the top of their head?

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 11:48 am
Posts: 12458
That's cool!! Thanks for sharing.

_________________
==||==
Function f(x)
TightCamera - Gear Reviews


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 1:21 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 4:30 am
Posts: 3349
Location: Middle England
This is interesting, thanks. What is the unmarked component at SW2 on the left side and what does T & S stand for? (I know T&A :lol: ).

thanks
KC

_________________
To err is human, blaming someone else shows management potential


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 1:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 3:17 pm
Posts: 3970
Location: Seekonk, MA
T & S = Tip & Sleeve..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 3:28 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 9:15 pm
Posts: 7632
Location: Ohio
Have you actually used this switching arrangement? Although I haven't used a relay myself I've been told they make loud turn ON pops when actuated.

_________________
"It’s your soldering."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 7:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 1376
Location: Toronto, Canada.
Stephen wrote:
Have you actually used this switching arrangement? Although I haven't used a relay myself I've been told they make loud turn ON pops when actuated.

Normally setup yes they do, you are right. There is a tiny bit of capacitance between the relay's coils. When you hit the coil's suddenly with voltage you cause transient spikes and popping. The coils basically act as a very small (0.25pF - 2pF) cap.

The idea with this design though is the BJT slows down the voltage getting to the relay. The switching is still instant.

At least thats how I think it works with this design.

_________________
http://www.pdfelectronics.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 8:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:42 pm
Posts: 2501
I have built it before and had no problem with popping whatsoever. However it is possible to tie the send and return to ground with a 1M resistor if popping is present to eliminate any noise.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 2:18 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 5:14 pm
Posts: 8586
Location: Truckee, CA
Nice! Do you have any examples of some of the much cooler switches you can use with this?

_________________
MasterDelayer/Reverbrador/Ampaholic/TopJacker


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 3:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:42 pm
Posts: 2501
Sure here ya go:
Image
Image

Any latching push button would work however.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 3:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:42 pm
Posts: 2501
Lol, you would need a key to turn on your pedal!!!

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 4:17 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 5:14 pm
Posts: 8586
Location: Truckee, CA
Jeez...you weren't kidding! Those are some cool looking switches.

That last one is definitely latching. :lol:

_________________
MasterDelayer/Reverbrador/Ampaholic/TopJacker


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 4:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 11:38 am
Posts: 4897
Location: Columbia River Gorge
Image

_________________
Image

Frag Magnet wrote:


BYOC: So easy even a drunk can do it!
:lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 4:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 11:40 am
Posts: 2020
Location: West Wales ... isn't it.
Use one of these ... but every time you turn on the pedal, you have to say ''IT'S ALIIIVE" :lol:

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:57 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 4:53 am
Posts: 1433
Location: Devils island, Denmark
gtrplaya101 wrote:
Lol, you would need a key to turn on your pedal!!!

Image


LOL :lol:
"Top notch security, no one can steal mah' pedal and use it for gigs" :P

Okay, that switch maybe more suited for an amp - that would actually be freakin' awesome 8)

_________________
dcountry13 wrote:
Ok....stripping sounds like the way to go.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 1:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 11:48 am
Posts: 12458
I think *this* is something for which you should do a group order of pro boards. I'd be in for a dozen or more of these.

_________________
==||==
Function f(x)
TightCamera - Gear Reviews


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 1:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 4:30 am
Posts: 3349
Location: Middle England
Don't we still need a value for the base resistor on this?

_________________
To err is human, blaming someone else shows management potential


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 5:34 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 5:14 pm
Posts: 8586
Location: Truckee, CA
culturejam wrote:
I think *this* is something for which you should do a group order of pro boards. I'd be in for a dozen or more of these.

Hear hear...

_________________
MasterDelayer/Reverbrador/Ampaholic/TopJacker


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 6:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:42 pm
Posts: 2501
I just priced it out and I could get these for about $3 a board. Would there still be interest?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 7:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 11:48 am
Posts: 12458
gtrplaya101 wrote:
I just priced it out and I could get these for about $3 a board. Would there still be interest?

I'm in for 10.

_________________
==||==
Function f(x)
TightCamera - Gear Reviews


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 9:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:42 pm
Posts: 2501
Started a BST thread :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2009 2:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 4:53 am
Posts: 1669
Location: Macclesfield UK
I was the one that originally asked for this and the component thats missing I worked it out to be
470 R, well it worked and didnt explode so there you go!

_________________

My Vero Layouts Blog


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2009 2:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:42 pm
Posts: 2501
470 sounds about right


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2009 10:11 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 2:12 pm
Posts: 3527
Location: Raleigh NC
If I wanted to TB a whammy with this, would the fact that it has its own adapter tha runs 9VAC (1.5 amp) output matter? Not sure if the bias R would need tweaking, but maybe.
If this works, Ima do it with my digitech xp as well. 8)

_________________
Born too late to explore the world, too early to travel the stars.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 72 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group