Build Your Own Clone Message Board

It is currently Wed Nov 25, 2020 7:43 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Jmp1 cab simulator
PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2013 10:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 9:32 pm
Posts: 1397
Location: Smithers, British Columbia Canada
Ok here it is, my first vero layout, from schematic to reality
I really learned a lot doing this, probably more from this one project than the last year or so of pedal building
verified by myself and works great
I don't have it boxed up yet as it is part of another multi pedal build

_________________
Doh! Stupid Diode


Last edited by RiffRaff on Sun Mar 16, 2014 11:52 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jmp1 cab simulator
PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2013 10:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 5:13 pm
Posts: 4215
Location: Soddy Daisy,TN
I feel like I need to build it, I have a question. The jmp-1 is a preamp, isn't it? What's a preamp cab simulator sound like?

_________________
Pedal building is like the opposite of sex. All the fun stuff happens before you get in the box.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jmp1 cab simulator
PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2013 10:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 9:32 pm
Posts: 1397
Location: Smithers, British Columbia Canada
well it is a speaker cabinet simulator circuit for direct out recording from the JMP 1 pre amp and from some other marshall amps
basically simulates a mic'ed speaker cab from the direct out of an amp
it's going in my next multi pedal build
so basically a simulated mic'ed 4x12 cab from the direct out of the multi pedal straight to pc for recording or live
pedal will have two outs , one to the amp and a direct out to the mixer to blend or recording gear

_________________
Doh! Stupid Diode


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jmp1 cab simulator
PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2013 10:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 5:13 pm
Posts: 4215
Location: Soddy Daisy,TN
RiffRaff wrote:
well it is a speaker cabinet simulator circuit for direct out recording from the JMP 1 pre amp and from some other marshall amps
basically simulates a mic'ed speaker cab from the direct out of an amp
it's going in my next multi pedal build
so basically a simulated mic'ed 4x12 cab from the direct out of the multi pedal straight to pc for recording or live
pedal will have two outs , one to the amp and a direct out to the mixer to blend or recording gear

sounds like an awesome idea. Buffer splitter out? Can't wait to see it. Sounds very cool?

_________________
Pedal building is like the opposite of sex. All the fun stuff happens before you get in the box.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jmp1 cab simulator
PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2014 1:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 11:52 am
Posts: 5527
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Thank you so much for this! This will be useful for so many things :D
What voltages have you tried it with, and does it provide more headroom and/or any other advantages with higher V?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jmp1 cab simulator
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 1:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 11:42 pm
Posts: 2593
Location: Toronto
Would this require a preamp to be useful or could it be placed at the end of a pedal chain in the event you went direct to a PA, etc?

_________________
Dog Is Blue - Toronto garage folk duo


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jmp1 cab simulator
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 4:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 9:32 pm
Posts: 1397
Location: Smithers, British Columbia Canada
I've only used it with 9v and at the end of the chain with a buffer/splitter just in front of it in this pedal so far
and it sounds amazing to my ears

_________________
Doh! Stupid Diode


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jmp1 cab simulator
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 4:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 9:32 pm
Posts: 1397
Location: Smithers, British Columbia Canada
don't think it needs a preamp and direct to pa would be a great use for it
p_wats wrote:
Would this require a preamp to be useful or could it be placed at the end of a pedal chain in the event you went direct to a PA, etc?

_________________
Doh! Stupid Diode


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jmp1 cab simulator
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 4:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 1:02 am
Posts: 3225
This could be interesting for testing pedals with a headphone amp. I may give this one a try.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jmp1 cab simulator
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 5:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 9:32 pm
Posts: 1397
Location: Smithers, British Columbia Canada
I hope some else gives it a try just to confirm how good it sounds

_________________
Doh! Stupid Diode


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jmp1 cab simulator
PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 11:36 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 1:49 pm
Posts: 1152
The layout says 26x16 strips but when you count the holes on the drawing its actually 27x16. It might be a good idea to change that because it cost me a stripboard that's now cut into useless pieces. I can probably reuse them again for smaller projects in the future but I was actually saving it for bigger projects as this.

_________________
Solder the heretic
Measure the mutant
Troubleshoot the unclean


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jmp1 cab simulator
PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 12:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 9:32 pm
Posts: 1397
Location: Smithers, British Columbia Canada
Ah shoot.. sorry dude, I fixed it thanks
if it's not too late you could just move one end of the jumper from LB to LE and still be able to use it

Muad'zin wrote:
The layout says 26x16 strips but when you count the holes on the drawing its actually 27x16. It might be a good idea to change that because it cost me a stripboard that's now cut into useless pieces. I can probably reuse them again for smaller projects in the future but I was actually saving it for bigger projects as this.

_________________
Doh! Stupid Diode


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jmp1 cab simulator
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 1:49 pm
Posts: 1152
RiffRaff wrote:
Ah shoot.. sorry dude, I fixed it thanks
if it's not too late you could just move one end of the jumper from LB to LE and still be able to use it


New boards have already been made. But I'll live. At least I noticed the error before I started making cuts to the tracks.

I know you've only run this at 9v, but any idea what would be the ideal voltage to run these babies on? In regard to headroom as I plan to use these after an AMT pre-amp, which means a somewhat hotter signal then normal.

_________________
Solder the heretic
Measure the mutant
Troubleshoot the unclean


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jmp1 cab simulator
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 8:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 9:32 pm
Posts: 1397
Location: Smithers, British Columbia Canada
the original circuit was powered with bipolar +/-15V supply

_________________
Doh! Stupid Diode


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jmp1 cab simulator
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 5:13 pm
Posts: 4215
Location: Soddy Daisy,TN
Man, the more you guys talk about this, the more I want to build it!

_________________
Pedal building is like the opposite of sex. All the fun stuff happens before you get in the box.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jmp1 cab simulator
PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 8:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 9:32 pm
Posts: 1397
Location: Smithers, British Columbia Canada
anyone else built this yet?

_________________
Doh! Stupid Diode


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jmp1 cab simulator
PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2014 11:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 9:32 pm
Posts: 1397
Location: Smithers, British Columbia Canada
updated the vero layout
seems to work great now!

_________________
Doh! Stupid Diode


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Jmp1 cab simulator
PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2014 9:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 11:42 pm
Posts: 2593
Location: Toronto
Finally populated one of these guys tonight! After some stupid mistakes (forgot a cap, didn't drill a cut all the way through, hooked up the test wiring wrong) it works!

I ran a few guitars (solid, hollow, acoustic) through this into my interface and it definitely makes it sound more like a 'real' guitar. My wife actually said "It sounds like you normally sound," which I took as a good sign!

I'll probably hook up a headphone output (any tips there?) and maybe add a preamp/eq section in front--it sounded really good with my MyTon Blonde in front of it.

Thanks for the layout!

_________________
Dog Is Blue - Toronto garage folk duo


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group