Build Your Own Clone Message Board

It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 12:28 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2022 9:10 am 

My nephew recently built a 5E3 amp using a Hoffman Amps turret board and the info found on the Rob Robinette web site and has run into a problem. He chose to build the version where the Normal channel gets replaced with a Lead Channel and added a pre-phase inverter Master Volume. The amp seems to be working but the MV is acting up and I'm not sure exactly what to do. When the MV is turned all the way down it mutes the amp completely. I have no experience with this amp and have no idea if this is normal or not. Another issue is that when playing thru either channel the MV will make a POP when you dime it and it lowers the sound level. Not sure if it mutes or not. I'll have to call him to go over the details again with him. When you have either channel's volume turned up all the way, even if you're not using that channel, the MV will not make the popping sound when you dime it. Any thoughts or suggestions?

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2022 9:15 am 

Got a schematic of the modded circuit?

My Website * My Musical Gear * My DIY Pedals: Pg.1 - Pg.2

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2022 9:51 am 

Hoffman board, schematic, layout, etc.
https://el34world.com/Hoffman/files/Hoffman_5E3.pdf

Robinette site
https://robrobinette.com/5e3_Modifications.htm

Master Volume mod
https://robrobinette.com/5e3_Modificati ... ter_Volume

Lead Channel mod
https://robrobinette.com/5e3_Modificati ... ad_Channel

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2022 5:18 am 

We were able to correct the amp's muting when the MV is turned all the way down. Turns out lug 1 of the MV pot was connected to the wrong side of the 56k resistor. Still haven't figured out why it pops when turned all the way up. When the MV is dimed it cuts the signal and causes a humming sound of it's own.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2022 11:31 am 

Stephen wrote: