Build Your Own Clone Message Board

It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 8:43 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: mighty mouse and others
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 2:40 pm 

i was just wondering (i'm new to building only one under my belt) about the mighty mouse i just ordered. is there a way to loose the toggle switch and use 3 stomp switches in it's place. i understand that a larger encloser would be needed but what about wiring. could anyone help me out. i want to be able to get all 3 tones while i'm standing up.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 3:45 pm 

It can be done but you'll probably need to get a larger enclosure to house it in.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 3:59 pm 

yeah i was thinking about making wooden boxes

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:09 pm 

You can do it with 2 switches (1 dpdt and 1 spdt) for all of the combinations, 1 switch (spst, on/off) would be clean/dirty, the other one (dpdt) would switch between distortion and overdrive modes.

If you could live with just 2 selections you could do it with 1 footswitch, spst or dpdt depending on what 2 settings you want.

Sorry, can't diagram it for you right now.

EDIT, you need 2 DPDT switches to do it with footswitches, if you want indicator LEDs, which I assume would be very helpful, you would need 3PDTs, 2 LEDs, and 2 resistors (it looks like Keith uses a 4.7K for the LED). I can draw a schematic, but I can't do a wiring diagram until I get my board. I could guess at the traces from the pictures in the instructions, but I couldn't guarantee them until I had the real thing.

Last edited by devastone on Sun Oct 15, 2006 9:30 am, edited 2 times in total.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:42 pm 

A wooden enclosure probably isn't a very good idea. A metal enclosure is part of the grounding and it also helps to shield against RFI.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 6:10 pm