Build Your Own Clone Message Board

It is currently Mon Aug 15, 2022 10:28 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 10:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 10:51 am
Posts: 24
I have bypass sound however no power, LED's and foot switches do not seems to work. They don't latch, is this normal? I get no noise at all.

Attachment:
IMG_6366.jpg
IMG_6366.jpg [ 715.67 KiB | Viewed 3548 times ]


Attachment:
IMG_6365.jpg
IMG_6365.jpg [ 735.69 KiB | Viewed 3548 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 10:42 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:39 pm
Posts: 5639
Location: Moses Lake, WA
You connected the + wire to the wrong terminal on the DC adapter jack. Your soldering is pretty bad too, so don't surprised if you have other things that need trouble shooting after you fix that.

_________________
*patience is a virtue*

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 11:08 am 
Online
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:24 pm
Posts: 15552
Location: Albany, NY
byoc wrote:
Your soldering is pretty bad too, so don't surprised if you have other things that need trouble shooting after you fix that.

^ This.

Here's some detailed guidance on reflowing your solder joints and inspecting for various solder defects: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=52188

Here are a few links to additional informational posts that you may find useful:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=52211

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6401

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=54691

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33293

_________________
“My favorite programming language is SOLDER” - Bob Pease (RIP)

My Website * My Musical Gear * My DIY Pedals: Pg.1 - Pg.2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2021 12:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 10:51 am
Posts: 24
After carefully resoldering, still no power. I am using a pedal power supply. I do also get bypass sound. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance



Attachment:
IMG_6369.jpg
IMG_6369.jpg [ 103.37 KiB | Viewed 3520 times ]
Attachment:
IMG_6370.jpg
IMG_6370.jpg [ 125.26 KiB | Viewed 3520 times ]
Attachment:
IMG_6371.jpg
IMG_6371.jpg [ 95.46 KiB | Viewed 3520 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2021 12:30 pm 
Online
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:24 pm
Posts: 15552
Location: Albany, NY
You still have the + eyelet of the PCB connected to the wrong terminal of the DC jack. Move it over to the outside terminal as indicated in the marked up photo below:

Attachment:
CJ_DC_jack_fix.jpg
CJ_DC_jack_fix.jpg [ 58.95 KiB | Viewed 3518 times ]

_________________
“My favorite programming language is SOLDER” - Bob Pease (RIP)

My Website * My Musical Gear * My DIY Pedals: Pg.1 - Pg.2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2021 3:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 10:51 am
Posts: 24
Still nothing however I read the voltage on the leads from the power and there is 9.2 vac so power is going in however no lights. The foot switches do not seem to do anything. When you push them down they just spring back up with no click or sound. Is this normal?

Attachment:
IMG_6371.jpg
IMG_6371.jpg [ 95.46 KiB | Viewed 3514 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2021 3:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 10:51 am
Posts: 24
Wrong pic

Attachment:
IMG_6373.jpg
IMG_6373.jpg [ 642.04 KiB | Viewed 3514 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2021 3:45 pm 
Online
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:24 pm
Posts: 15552
Location: Albany, NY
gitar335 wrote:
Still nothing however I read the voltage on the leads from the power and there is 9.2 vac so power is going in however no lights.

I hope this is just a typo. You need to be using 9 VDC, not AC!

gitar335 wrote:
The foot switches do not seem to do anything. When you push them down they just spring back up with no click or sound. Is this normal?

That's normal. These are not the latching switches used in most BYOC kits, but rather momentary contact switches for the Crown Jewel's relay-based "soft" switching system.

What type of soldering iron are you using? I'm seeing an awful lot of thermal damage on the PCB, wiring and components.

_________________
“My favorite programming language is SOLDER” - Bob Pease (RIP)

My Website * My Musical Gear * My DIY Pedals: Pg.1 - Pg.2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2021 4:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 10:51 am
Posts: 24
60/40 solder. I don't believe it is rosin core. Yes it is DC


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2021 11:32 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:39 pm
Posts: 5639
Location: Moses Lake, WA
You still haven't wired the DC jack correctly. You moved the wrong wire. Please look at the wiring diagram more closely. Page 23 and page 24.

_________________
*patience is a virtue*

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2021 1:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 10:51 am
Posts: 24
Please look this over and let me know your thoughts. I did change the position of the positive DC wire and still no power





Attachment:
IMG_6389.jpg
IMG_6389.jpg [ 127.04 KiB | Viewed 3464 times ]


Attachment:
IMG_6386.jpg
IMG_6386.jpg [ 104.65 KiB | Viewed 3464 times ]


Attachment:
IMG_6391.jpg
IMG_6391.jpg [ 694.9 KiB | Viewed 3464 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2021 2:30 pm 
Online
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:24 pm
Posts: 15552
Location: Albany, NY
gitar335 wrote:
...I did change the position of the positive DC wire and still no power

"No power" as determined how? Are you checking for DC voltage on the PCB with a meter? LED's not lighting when the footswitches are pressed? Some other symptom?

_________________
“My favorite programming language is SOLDER” - Bob Pease (RIP)

My Website * My Musical Gear * My DIY Pedals: Pg.1 - Pg.2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2021 2:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 10:51 am
Posts: 24
I have only checked on the back of the DC plug. When I press the footswitch, no light comes on. I do have bypass sound. I am not clear on how to go about measuring voltages to determine what's gone wrong


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2021 6:41 pm 
Online
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:24 pm
Posts: 15552
Location: Albany, NY
Well, let's start by looking to see if you have power getting into the PCB. Here's how:

To measure the DC voltage level in the Crown Jewel circuit, set your multimeter to the DC voltage mode, indicated by a solid line above a dotted one. Use the 20VDC range setting if it's not an auto-ranging meter. Your power source needs to be connected, of course. If the pedal is assembled into the metal enclosure, put the black probe into one of the corner screw bosses of the enclosure--this is your ground connection. If the "guts" are out of the enclosure, use the sleeve tab of the input jack for the ground connection. Then touch the red probe to each point that you want to measure.

Using this procedure, measure the DC voltage level on the two points I've marked on your photo, below:

  • The outer + tab of the DC jack
  • The bottom lead of the uppermost diode to the left of the DC adapter connections on the PCB

Report your readings here.

Attachment:
CJ_incoming_DC_check.jpg
CJ_incoming_DC_check.jpg [ 64.22 KiB | Viewed 3455 times ]

_________________
“My favorite programming language is SOLDER” - Bob Pease (RIP)

My Website * My Musical Gear * My DIY Pedals: Pg.1 - Pg.2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2021 6:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 10:51 am
Posts: 24
Measures 9.27


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2021 9:54 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:39 pm
Posts: 5639
Location: Moses Lake, WA
gitar335 wrote:
Measures 9.27



This means you are getting power.

Now measure the pins on the boost module socket. The voltages are already labelled for you on the PCB. Also measure pin 1 (square eyelet or pin with the dot in the corner) of the MCU.

_________________
*patience is a virtue*

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2021 12:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 10:51 am
Posts: 24
I get 9.23 on the first pin on the MCU socket however nothing at the boost sockets


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2021 12:29 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:39 pm
Posts: 5639
Location: Moses Lake, WA
gitar335 wrote:
I get 9.23 on the first pin on the MCU socket however nothing at the boost sockets


That's not possible. You are either measuring in the wrong spots or measuring incorrectly.

Measure at the square solder pads labelled "-9" and "+18" located next to the 1054 chip and the diodes where duhvoodooman showed you to measure earlier.

_________________
*patience is a virtue*

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2021 12:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 10:51 am
Posts: 24
9.3 on both


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2021 12:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 10:51 am
Posts: 24
Sorry for the confusion. +9 block is -1.2 and the +18 block was -2.2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2021 4:53 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:39 pm
Posts: 5639
Location: Moses Lake, WA
Can you post a pic or link to the meter that you're using, please?

_________________
*patience is a virtue*

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2021 10:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 10:51 am
Posts: 24
Here is the meter. I also have a Circuit tester if that would help track down the issues

Attachment:
IMG_6391.jpg
IMG_6391.jpg [ 694.9 KiB | Viewed 3367 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2021 11:03 am 
Online
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:24 pm
Posts: 15552
Location: Albany, NY
That's not a meter. Please edit and post the correct photo.

_________________
“My favorite programming language is SOLDER” - Bob Pease (RIP)

My Website * My Musical Gear * My DIY Pedals: Pg.1 - Pg.2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Crown Jewel
PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2021 11:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 10:51 am
Posts: 24
Sorry

Attachment:
IMG_6395.jpg
IMG_6395.jpg [ 596.08 KiB | Viewed 3364 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group