Build Your Own Clone Message Board

It is currently Tue Apr 30, 2024 4:44 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2023 8:05 am 

Hello!

Here's my story... Total newbie/rookie/terrible solderer here! :D

I got the classic fuzz kit as a gift a while back.
    I managed to build it as a first timer.
    I'm sure my soldering is terrible.
    But... it worked! ..it lit up, made fuzz sounds (it was a little quiet, which may have been some issue.. not sure).
    I used it on my practice board for a bit, and one day it stopped working so I just removed it from the board and forgot about it for a while.

So, now, I'm trying to get it back working again. Here's what I'm seeing... (pics: https://photos.app.goo.gl/wadjEND3ksmbouib6)

The LED works. When engaged, the LED lights up
    It gets power via adapter or 9 volt battery
    The bypass works (when disengaged, the clean tone comes through.)

So, ..I'm looking for some general and/or specific advice on how to start troubleshooting this...

I think I should clip off some extra long wire/solder that might be shorting something.
    I see some straggly wires that need some cleaning up
    I have a multimeter, are there certain areas I should check?
    I don't have a de-solderer
    Certain things I should be looking for?
    pics linked... (terrible solderer here!) once again.. same link: https://photos.app.goo.gl/wadjEND3ksmbouib6

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2023 8:27 am 

While your soldering isn't very good, it's not very bad either! But the problem you describe--a pedal that was working and suddenly stopped--is typical of a failed solder joint somewhere in the build. So the first thing I would recommend is to work through this process: https://www.byocelectronics.com/board/v ... =9&t=52188

Read through the post carefully and follow it explicitly.

My Website * My Musical Gear * My DIY Pedals: Pg.1 - Pg.2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2023 8:34 am