Build Your Own Clone Message Board

It is currently Thu Aug 11, 2022 9:37 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Super 8 no sound output.
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2022 5:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2022 8:30 pm
Posts: 13
Hi all. I finally got around to building my super 8 looper and I received the the rev 1.1 board and the parts for the rev 1.2 board. I’ve already got some parts on the way from byoc but I was impatient and ordered a photo coupler and transistors from Amazon. The transistors fixed the problem of the presets staying on but now I cannot get a signal out of the pedal. Everything works as it should but when I hook up my guitar I get nothing out. Did I order the wrong photo coupler? Anyone have a part number?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2022 5:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2022 8:30 pm
Posts: 13
Any help here is appreciated. I’m ready to give up and toss it in the trash. Waste of $


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 02, 2022 6:37 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:24 pm
Posts: 15547
Location: Albany, NY
Patience, please. The Super 8 is a complicated microprocessor-controlled device and Keith/byoc knows its workings far better than any of the rest of us here. I'm sure he will stop by and weigh in on your problem, though it may not be until Monday. I'm confident he can help you get it running properly, so please hang in there.

_________________
“My favorite programming language is SOLDER” - Bob Pease (RIP)

My Website * My Musical Gear * My DIY Pedals: Pg.1 - Pg.2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2022 8:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2022 8:30 pm
Posts: 13
Thanks. I was definitely feeling defeated during my last post. Lol. I was able to get some sound through it but it’s very noisy. Sounds like when you touch your cable when it’s plugged into the amp. Also getting a lot of clipping noise when I switch from preset to preset.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2022 10:26 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:39 pm
Posts: 5639
Location: Moses Lake, WA
The photo coupler mutes the circuit for a very brief period while switching so that you don't hear the relays clicking. So maybe the photo coupler you are using is muting your signal.

The photocoupler is not an essential part of the circuit, so I'd probably best to remove it for now and then replace it with the part we sent you later.

So take out the optocoupler and tell me what your super8 is doing now.

_________________
*patience is a virtue*

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2022 10:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2022 8:30 pm
Posts: 13
I replaced it already with the one you guys sent. I noticed a few of the relays not clicking so I replaced the transistors and got some sound to come through but there is a very obnoxious loud buzzing.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2022 11:15 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:39 pm
Posts: 5639
Location: Moses Lake, WA
jashe123 wrote:
I replaced it already with the one you guys sent. I noticed a few of the relays not clicking so I replaced the transistors and got some sound to come through but there is a very obnoxious loud buzzing.


If you remove power, the Super8 will go into bypass. Without power plugged in, do you get bypass (signal just goes straight from the main IN to the main OUT) and does the noise go away?

_________________
*patience is a virtue*

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2022 9:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2022 8:30 pm
Posts: 13
Still noisy. Gets louder when it’s plugged in.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2022 10:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2022 8:30 pm
Posts: 13
I am getting bypass but it’s still very noisy


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2022 10:05 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:39 pm
Posts: 5639
Location: Moses Lake, WA
jashe123 wrote:
I am getting bypass but it’s still very noisy


If you're getting noise when there is no power to the unit, then that would imply that you have a grounding issue. Do you have a multimeter and know how to test for continuity? With power off to the unit, and cables plugged into the in and out jacks, test for continuity between the sleeves of the cables.

_________________
*patience is a virtue*

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2022 12:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2022 8:30 pm
Posts: 13
I am getting.1 at the sleeve and .7 at the tip


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2022 1:10 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:45 pm
Posts: 4530
Location: Rochester, NY
jashe123 wrote:
I am getting.1 at the sleeve and .7 at the tip

You need to do a continuity check, not a voltage check. Here's a video about how to do it:



Keith (byoc) suggested plugging cables into the input and output and then checking for continuity at the sleeves of the other end of the cables.

_________________
Scott

My band, Austin Hollow


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2022 3:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2022 8:30 pm
Posts: 13
I did. It’s .1 ohms and .7 ohms.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2022 4:46 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:39 pm
Posts: 5639
Location: Moses Lake, WA
jashe123 wrote:
I did. It’s .1 ohms and .7 ohms.



There are a couple things here. First of all, you aren't supposed to measure sleeve to tip. You should be measuring sleeve to sleeve. We want to see if you have continuity between all your ground connections. So first, plug a cable into the input. Then plug another cable into the output. Then test for continuity between the sleeve of one cable and the sleeve of the other cable.

You've accidentally exposed another potential problem. If you are indeed correctly measuring between the tip and sleeve, and you are only getting .1 ohms resistance (which is essentially continuity), then you have your signal path shorted to ground somewhere.

_________________
*patience is a virtue*

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2022 7:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2022 8:30 pm
Posts: 13
I did exactly that. I plugged in my 1/4 cable into the output and the other end of that cable to my amp. I then plugged another 1/4” cable into the input jack. I then measured the ohms between the sleeve of the input cable and the sleeve of the output cable. It read .1 so there is continuity there. I then measured from the tip of the cable in the input jack to the tip of the cable in the output jack. It read .7 ohms.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2022 7:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2022 8:30 pm
Posts: 13
Just for clarity I’m versed in electronics. I used to build electronic cigarette mods years ago. I’m no expert and this is my first build for this application but I do know the basics.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2022 10:53 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:39 pm
Posts: 5639
Location: Moses Lake, WA
What is the resistance between the tip and sleeve?

Can you please post pics of your build?

_________________
*patience is a virtue*

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2022 1:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2022 8:30 pm
Posts: 13
Should I check the resistance across the input to output? From tip of the input to the sleeve of the output?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2022 11:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2022 8:30 pm
Posts: 13
It won’t allow me to upload the pics. And honestly I’m tired of the back and forth. At this rate it will take 3 months to figure out why the pedal that came with the wrong parts won’t work. I appreciate all the help but I’ll just buy a looper from ehx or something.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group