Build Your Own Clone Message Board

It is currently Wed May 22, 2024 1:48 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 8:26 am 

Would it be possible to mod an amp selector in order to make the "stereo" input accept a stereo plug? I'd like to be able to use it to route the signal from a guitar with split neck and bridge pickups, without having to use a clunky stereo->2xmono adaptor. But ideally I'd also like it to work as a splitter for one mono signal, and still be able to run two mono inputs as well.

Is that possible? I was trying to think through it but got stuck because I don't understand what purpose IC1a serves in the circuit (let alone why it seems to have its power supply wired backwards).

Any help or suggestions are appreciated, as you can probably guess I've got some guitar wiring experience but have never built a pedal!

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:10 am 

Hi - welcome to the forum! :D

Could you clarify a bit what you want the pedal to do? It sounds like you'd like to be able to plug a TRS plug into input A and have the pedal switch between the tip out, the ring out, and both, but also be able to function as it does stock. Is that correct?

PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:14 am 

Morgan wrote:
Hi - welcome to the forum! :D

Could you clarify a bit what you want the pedal to do? It sounds like you'd like to be able to plug a TRS plug into input A and have the pedal switch between the tip out, the ring out, and both, but also be able to function as it does stock. Is that correct?

That's exactly it!

PostPosted: Thu Apr 11, 2013 1:12 pm 

Anyone have any suggestions? Even some insight into IC1a's role in the circuit would be helpful...

PostPosted: Thu Apr 11, 2013 3:41 pm 

I think this should work. It's not verified, but I don't see why it wouldn't work.

Attachment:
BYOC Amp Selector Stereo Mod.JPG
BYOC Amp Selector Stereo Mod.JPG [ 78.18 KiB | Viewed 8472 times ]