Build Your Own Clone Message Board

It is currently Tue Jun 25, 2024 4:48 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: SUPER 8 Rev 1.2 problem
PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2021 2:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2021 2:03 pm
Posts: 6
Hello,

i am building a super 8 rev 1.2 switcher.

now, i was trying with the youtube video to test it first before put it in the enclosure.

i have some problems.
see video(sorry phone quality)

if it is necessary i take some better photos tommorow.

https://youtu.be/BzVsZEynafI


so i put the power on it turns on but with a lot of leds allready burning.
when i pres the switches 8 , 6 and 8&6 those leds come on.
when i pres switch BP and 2 nothing happens.
to switch mode and banks works also.

when i turn on 6, 8 and 6&8 and pres 2 they al go out?

what can i check or do to fix this issue?

thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2021 6:36 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:39 pm
Posts: 6012
Location: Richland, WA
We've had some trouble with a batch of transistors that went into the super8. Remove the transistors that correspond to the channels with problems. The relays for those channels won't work anymore, but the LEDs should work as expected.

You don't need to bother trying to desolder them at the moment. Just snip them off at the legs. If the LEDs work as they should, we'll get you some replacement transistors and you can desolder then.

_________________
*patience is a virtue*

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2021 2:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2021 2:03 pm
Posts: 6
Hello,

i took some pictures of my build.
you can see them here:

https://postimg.cc/gallery/PxKsK97

so i cut the black transistors at the channels with problems


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2021 2:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2021 2:03 pm
Posts: 6
Hi,

i just cut out the transistors at the channels that didnt work.

and now all the leds go as they have to go.
switching banks or mode also works
save presets (blinking yellow led) and call them up also works.

but as you said, the relay of those channels dont click now :)
so how can i get new transistors?

thanks in advance


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2021 12:17 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:39 pm
Posts: 6012
Location: Richland, WA
jensvda88 wrote:
Hi,

i just cut out the transistors at the channels that didnt work.

and now all the leds go as they have to go.
switching banks or mode also works
save presets (blinking yellow led) and call them up also works.

but as you said, the relay of those channels dont click now :)
so how can i get new transistors?

thanks in advance


I apologize for the inconvenience. If you contact sales@buildyourownclone.com with your order info we'll get those out to you right away. Alternatively, 2N3904 transistors are pretty common and inexpensive. If you happen to have an electronics store nearby, there's a good chance they will have them. That's if you don't want to wait. Otherwise, we'll send you replacements asap.

_________________
*patience is a virtue*

Please do not PM me. email is prefered. keith@buildyourownclone.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2021 9:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2021 9:20 pm
Posts: 1
Hi,

I’m pretty sure I’m dealing with this same problem. All of the functions with loops and presets seem to work except loop 3 won’t engage and the LED won’t light. I’ve used a cable tester to see if anything is soldered improperly, and looks as though everything checks out. I’ll do some further testing with a guitar signal to make sure there’s no other issues, but I’m convinced this is the only one.

Do I just need to replace that one transistor by the relay? Mine came with 2N5088 transistors.


Thanks,
Chase


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2021 11:19 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:24 pm
Posts: 16252
Location: Albany, NY
chase.ed wrote:
Do I just need to replace that one transistor by the relay? Mine came with 2N5088 transistors.

Very probably yes. But I'd ask for 2 or 3, just in case.

_________________
“My favorite programming language is SOLDER” - Bob Pease (RIP)

My Website * My Musical Gear * My DIY Pedals: Pg.1 - Pg.2


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group