Build Your Own Clone Message Board

It is currently Thu May 02, 2024 4:34 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2023 2:05 pm 

Hey, who here is a fellow CAD Monkey? All love and respect intended, I've been using and teaching CAD since the late 90's. I'm currently an AutoCAD instructor (to include the verticals like Plant3D, Mechanical, etc.) for a CAD reseller. Any other geeks in here?

Reason I ask, even though I've been using AutoCAD and it's verticals for two decades, I'm new to Autodesk Inventor. But being that I'm an instructor and tech support, I have access to Inventor, and I'm working on learning it as I go. Any Inventor users in here? Do any of y'all bring in your enclosures and start to put in circuits and whatnot? If so, what is your workflow? Do you have the enclosures in your content center, or do you just sketch a new one each time? Let's talk!
Chuck

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2023 4:34 pm 

I use AutoCAD LT a lot for work. Just 2D, mostly to create panel layout diagrams and wiring diagrams. I haven't found it useful for pedal building... yet :)

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2023 5:39 pm 

CaptainPeyote wrote:
I use AutoCAD LT a lot for work. Just 2D, mostly to create panel layout diagrams and wiring diagrams. I haven't found it useful for pedal building... yet :)

Well we need to change that, good Sir! Unfortunately LT is only for 2D... but we can always make orthographic views with it.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2023 7:23 pm 

Maybe a little better idea where I'm wanting to go with this...

While I was scrolling the facepage today, I came across a pedal that someone made where they utilized what was being called, the "point-to-point" method. I thought it was pretty cool! I cringe at the uncoated wires, but I was thinking maybe I could use solid core, insulated wire. (see picture, hopefully it'll make sense). Not my picture, not my project, I have asked for permission to share it though.

[Insert picture here once I have approval]