Build Your Own Clone Message Board

It is currently Wed May 15, 2024 1:42 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 5:47 pm 

Hey first time post here, this is also my first build (well other than the Confidence Boost). Thanks in advance for the help! The pedal works, switches, sounds great, etc. But I am getting a little tone suck in bypass. If I go straight to amp it is brighter and clearer than when the pedal is bypassed. My soldering skills are the prettiest but they seem to be good enough for everything else so not sure what is up here. Maybe because the PC board is not as clear a bypass as as straight wire from the 2 points on the switch? Anyway, I have a couple pics of the switch below. I did clean it up some and I reseated the switch board onto the socket on the mainboard. All is hooked up as it should be.

Thanks!

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 5:54 pm 

I'm no expert, but I'd be willing to bet that reflowing the solder joints on the switch and shortening up that wiring from the jacks would help.

j.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 6:44 pm 

Yeah I was kinda thinking of getting the solder sucker and cleaning those out on the switch and redoing. I am not cracked up about the use of the PC board on the switch, but I can't see it being the problem per se.

Yeah those lines look a little long, but it said 2 1/2 inches in the instructions. Would be easy enough to shorten I guess.

Again, first build. I was kinda shocked that it turned on at all! :lol:

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 1:39 pm 

Will do John. Maybe it is a design thing, who knows? May be a few days before I get round to re-doing those as I want to shorten the wires at the same time. Let me know if you redo yours and it makes a difference.

Anyone that has one of these built experienced this as well?

Chad

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 2:16 pm